Suffolk, VA Building Permit Fees (2026)
Actual residential building permit fees from the City of Suffolk Fee Schedule for Fiscal Year 2026-2027 (Community Development section), the same schedule printed in the City's Adopted Operating & Capital Budget for FY 2026-2027. Verified directly against both official documents on October 20, 2026.
This page covers: The residential building and trade permit fees in the Community Development section of the City of Suffolk Fee Schedule for Fiscal Year 2026-2027. Residential new construction and alterations are $0.09 per sq ft, and every building and trade permit has a $56 minimum. A separate residential plan review fee is set by project size, starting at $83 for 0-2,499 sq ft. Swimming pools are $56 up to $2,200 of value, then $56 plus 0.2% of value. Demolition of a one- or two-family dwelling is $61. The Community Development Division issues these permits for the City of Suffolk, an independent city.
Two add-ons are printed on the schedule: a State Levy of 2.00%, and a Technology Fee of $5.00 on all new building, trade and zoning permits. The technology fee is new for FY 2026-2027; the prior year's schedule shows "None." The schedule does not say which fees the 2% levy is calculated on. PermitPrice applies it to the permit fee only, not to plan review or the technology fee.
Open questions in the schedule: it does not define how square footage is measured for the $0.09 rate, does not say whether the residential plan review fee is charged on small alterations or decks, and does not name separate deck or shed lines. For pools over $2,200 it reads "$56 plus 0.2% of value" without saying whether the 0.2% applies to the whole value or only the amount over $2,200. This page shows both pool readings.
This page does NOT cover: Zoning permits (fences and accessory structures go through a separate zoning permit, $49 in FY 2026-2027), Health Department evaluations for well and septic, Department of Public Utilities water and sewer connection fees, fire prevention and fire protection permits, the stormwater utility fee, and commercial fees. These are excluded from every figure here.
A residential building permit in Suffolk, VA is $0.09 per sq ft with a $56 minimum, plus the 2% state levy and a $5 technology fee. For a new 2,000 sq ft home the building fee is $180.00, and with the $83 residential plan review, levy and technology fee the building permit totals $271.60. Electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits are separate. Any building job of 622 sq ft or less pays the $56 minimum, which is $62.12 with the levy and technology fee.
- Residential new construction and alterations are $0.09 per sq ft in FY 2026-2027, unchanged from FY 2025-2026, with a $56 minimum building and trade permit fee.
- Residential plan review is a flat fee by size: $83 for 0-2,499 sq ft, $110 for 2,500-5,000 sq ft and $138 for 5,000-10,000 sq ft.
- A new 2,000 sq ft home: $180.00 building fee + $3.60 levy + $5.00 technology fee + $83.00 plan review = $271.60 for the building permit.
- The $5 technology fee on every new building, trade and zoning permit is new this fiscal year, so each separate trade permit adds $5 as well.
- Electrical service permits are priced by amperage ($83 for a 151-200 amp single-phase service), plumbing is $8 per fixture with a $56 minimum, and mechanical equipment is $56 plus $6 per $1,000 of value.
- Work started without a permit is penalized $276 on each permit, and each extra inspection trip or reinspection is $56.
Suffolk is not yet in the PermitPrice calculator. Use the worked examples below for Suffolk figures.
Suffolk Building Permit Fee Structure
Suffolk publishes one citywide fee schedule each fiscal year, with the prior year and current year side by side. The tables below show the FY 2026-2027 Community Development figures as printed, before the 2% state levy and the $5 technology fee.
Building permits (residential)
| Category | FY 2026-2027 fee |
|---|---|
| Residential new construction and alterations | $0.09 per sq ft |
| Minimum building and trade permit fee | $56.00 |
| Swimming pools - value $1 to $2,200 | $56.00 |
| Swimming pools - value over $2,200 | $56 plus 0.2% of value |
| Private piers, greenhouses, retaining walls over 3 ft - value $1 to $2,200 | $56.00 |
| Private piers, greenhouses, retaining walls over 3 ft - value over $2,200 | $56 plus 0.2% of value |
| Demolition - one to two family dwelling | $61.00 |
| Demolition - any residential accessory structure | $56.00 |
| Mobile home | $56.00 |
| Chimney, free-standing fireplace or wood stove, stationary fireplace, tent | $56.00 each |
| Certificate of occupancy - residential | $56.00 |
Residential plan review (building)
| Project size | Plan review fee |
|---|---|
| 0 - 2,499 sq ft | $83.00 |
| 2,500 - 5,000 sq ft | $110.00 |
| 5,000 - 10,000 sq ft | $138.00 |
| 10,001 - 30,000 sq ft | $193.00 |
| 30,001 - 50,000 sq ft | $276.00 |
| 50,001 - 100,000 sq ft | $331.00 |
| Above 100,000 sq ft | $386.00 |
The schedule labels these "All Structures - Residential." The printed bands overlap at 5,000 sq ft, and the schedule does not say whether plan review is charged on small alterations or decks. Confirm with the Community Development Division.
Trade permits (residential)
| Permit | FY 2026-2027 fee |
|---|---|
| Electrical service, single phase - 1 to 150 amps | $56.00 |
| Electrical service, single phase - 151 to 200 amps | $83.00 |
| Electrical service, single phase - 201 to 300 amps | $110.00 |
| Electrical service, single phase - 301 to 400 amps | $166.00 |
| Electrical circuits on residential additions and repairs (per circuit) | $5 (0-20 amps) to $22 (over 150 amps) |
| Pool grounding | $61.00 |
| Repair wiring, apparatus, fixtures | $56.00 |
| Plumbing - each fixture, floor drain, trap or water heater | $8.00 each |
| Plumbing - each sewer replaced or repaired; each water line (existing residential) | $39.00 each |
| Mechanical - all new and replacement equipment | $56 plus $6.00 per $1,000 of value |
The electrical, mechanical and plumbing sections each carry a $56 minimum. The schedule notes that circuits are included in the electrical service fee for residential new service. A new $50 mechanical plan review line for "New Equipment & Changeouts with new duct work" appears in the FY 2026-2027 column.
Inspection and administrative fees
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Extra inspection trip (each) or reinspection | $56.00 |
| Extension of permits | $83.00 |
| Penalty for working without permits (on each permit where work has been done) | $276.00 |
| Technology fee for all new permits (building, trade, zoning) | $5.00 |
| Refund administrative fee (per permit, not refunded) | $30.00 |
Suffolk Permit Fee Components
A Suffolk residential building permit is the square-foot fee (or the $56 minimum), plus the 2% state levy, plus the $5 technology fee, plus residential plan review where it is charged.
| Component | Amount | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Building permit fee | $0.09 per sq ft, min $56 | Exact from the FY 2026-2027 schedule |
| Virginia state levy | 2.00% | Printed on the schedule; applied to the permit fee by PermitPrice (base not stated) |
| Technology fee | $5.00 per new permit | New in FY 2026-2027; building, trade and zoning permits |
| Residential plan review | $83 - $386 by size | Included in new-home and addition examples; not stated for small jobs |
| Trade permits (electrical, mechanical, plumbing) | Separate permits | Each has its own $56 minimum, levy and $5 technology fee |
| Zoning, health, utility, fire fees | Separate schedules | Excluded from every figure on this page |
How the totals on this page are built: permit fee + (permit fee x 2%) + $5.00, then plan review where shown. For a 2,000 sq ft home that is $180.00 + $3.60 + $5.00 + $83.00 = $271.60. The levy is not applied to plan review or to the technology fee. That is PermitPrice's reading, because the schedule prints the 2% rate without saying which fees it applies to. The City's posted State Mandated Levy notice describes it as a levy "of fees charged for building permits."
Worked Examples
Every base fee below is exact from the City of Suffolk FY 2026-2027 fee schedule, as are the 2% levy rate and the $5 technology fee. Where an example depends on an input the schedule does not fix (fixture count, equipment value, pool value) or on a reading of the schedule, it is labeled as an estimate.
Example 1: New 2,000 Sq Ft Single-Family Home
| Fee Component | Rule Applied | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Building permit fee | 2,000 x $0.09 | $180.00 |
| Virginia state levy | $180.00 x 2% | $3.60 |
| Technology fee | flat, per new permit | $5.00 |
| Residential plan review | 0 - 2,499 sq ft band | $83.00 |
| Building permit total | fee + 2% + $5 + plan review | $271.60 |
| Electrical service permit, 200 amps single phase | $83.00 + $1.66 + $5.00 | $89.66 |
| Plumbing permit, 20 fixtures (estimate) | 20 x $8 = $160.00 + $3.20 + $5.00 | $168.20 |
| Mechanical permit, $12,000 of equipment (estimate) | $56 + 12 x $6 = $128.00 + $2.56 + $5.00 | $135.56 |
| Estimated total with trade permits | $271.60 + $393.42 | ~$665.02 |
Assumptions: The $0.09 rate, $83 plan review band, 2% levy rate, $5 technology fee, $83 electrical service fee, $8 plumbing fixture fee and $56 plus $6 per $1,000 mechanical fee are exact from the schedule. The 20-fixture count and $12,000 equipment value are PermitPrice's illustrative inputs, so the ~$665.02 all-in figure is an estimate. The schedule also lists a $56 residential certificate of occupancy fee and a $50 mechanical plan review line for new equipment with new duct work; neither is added above because the schedule does not say when they are billed. Applying the levy to permit fees only is our reading. Zoning, Health Department and utility connection fees are separate. Source: City of Suffolk Fee Schedule FY 2026-2027.
Example 2: 800 Sq Ft Home Addition
| Fee Component | Rule Applied | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Building permit fee | 800 x $0.09 (min $56) | $72.00 |
| Virginia state levy | $72.00 x 2% | $1.44 |
| Technology fee | flat, per new permit | $5.00 |
| Building permit total (before plan review) | fee + 2% + $5 | $78.44 |
| Total with residential plan review | $78.44 + $83.00 | $161.44 |
Assumptions: An addition is priced on the "Residential New Construction and Alterations" line. Because $56 / $0.09 = 622.2, any project of 622 sq ft or less pays the $56 minimum instead ($62.12 with levy and technology fee). Plan review is shown as a separate total because the schedule does not say whether it applies to every addition. Electrical circuits on a residential addition are $5 to $22 per circuit and plumbing is $8 per fixture, each as a separate permit with its own $56 minimum and $5 technology fee; they are not included. Source: City of Suffolk Fee Schedule FY 2026-2027.
Example 3: In-Ground Pool Valued at $40,000
| Fee Component | Rule Applied | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Pool fee - 0.2% of the whole value | $56 + ($40,000 x 0.2%) | $136.00 |
| Pool permit total (whole-value reading) | $136.00 + $2.72 + $5.00 | $143.72 |
| Pool fee - 0.2% of value over $2,200 | $56 + ($37,800 x 0.2%) = $131.60 | $131.60 |
| Pool permit total (excess-value reading) | $131.60 + $2.63 + $5.00 | $139.23 |
| Pool grounding (electrical line) | $61.00 + $1.22 + $5.00 | $67.22 |
Assumptions: The $40,000 pool value is an illustrative input. The schedule reads "over 2,200: $56 plus 0.2% of value" and does not say whether the 0.2% applies to the whole value or only the amount over $2,200, so both totals are shown; they differ by $4.49 here. The $67.22 pool grounding figure assumes it is billed as its own electrical permit with the levy and technology fee; if it is a line on a larger electrical permit, it would be $61.00 plus levy. A pool barrier fence is a separate zoning matter. Source: City of Suffolk Fee Schedule FY 2026-2027.
Example 4: Deck, Demolition and Service Upgrade
| Project | Rule Applied | Fee |
|---|---|---|
| 300 sq ft deck (residential construction line) | 300 x $0.09 = $27 -> $56 min + $1.12 + $5.00 | $62.12 |
| Demolition, one-family dwelling | $61.00 + $1.22 + $5.00 | $67.22 |
| Electrical service change to 200 amps | $83.00 + $1.66 + $5.00 | $89.66 |
Assumptions: The schedule has no separate deck line. If a deck is billed under "Residential New Construction and Alterations," any deck of 622 sq ft or less pays the $56 minimum, as shown; the City also publishes a 2021 Residential Deck Handout with construction requirements. The deck figure does not include residential plan review, which would add $83 if charged. Electrical service fees cover new service, temporary service and service changes. Source: City of Suffolk Fee Schedule FY 2026-2027.
Read before you budget from these examples
- Plan review on small jobs is an open question: the schedule lists residential plan review by size but does not say whether it is charged on decks or small alterations.
- The levy base is our reading: Suffolk prints a 2.00% state levy but not which fees it is calculated on. We apply it to permit fees, not plan review or the technology fee.
- Trade permits are extra: electrical, mechanical and plumbing permits are separate, and each carries its own $56 minimum and $5 technology fee.
- Site and utility fees are excluded: zoning permits, Health Department evaluations, Public Utilities connection fees and the stormwater fee are set separately.
Practitioner Insight
Suffolk's square-foot rate is low, so the flat charges carry most of the bill on small and mid-size projects. On a 2,000 sq ft home the $83 plan review is about 31% of the $271.60 building permit total, and on any job of 622 sq ft or less the $56 minimum replaces the square-foot math entirely. Because every new permit now adds a $5 technology fee, a project that needs building, electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits pays that fee four times.
Before you budget, ask the Community Development Division (757-514-4150) whether plan review applies to your project and how square footage is measured. To see how neighboring Hampton Roads cities price the same work, compare Chesapeake permit fees, Virginia Beach permit fees , Norfolk permit fees and Portsmouth permit fees.
Permit Requirements - Common Residential Projects in Suffolk
| Project Type | Permit Required? | Fee Category | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| New single-family home | Yes | $0.09 per sq ft + plan review | 2,000 sq ft: $271.60 building permit; trade permits separate |
| Addition or alteration | Yes | $0.09 per sq ft, min $56 | 800 sq ft: $78.44 before plan review |
| Shed or gazebo | Yes | Not a named line | City FAQ: Application for Services and property survey; Health Department approval if on well or septic |
| Fence | Yes | Zoning permit $49 | City FAQ: Application for Services and property survey; plus $5 technology fee |
| Deck | Ask the City | Not a named line | City publishes a 2021 Residential Deck Handout; $62.12 if billed at the $56 minimum |
| Swimming pool | Yes | $56 + 0.2% of value | Pool grounding $61; barrier and bonding handout published by the City |
| Retaining wall over 3 ft | Yes (listed) | $56 + 0.2% over $2,200 value | Same value-based line as private piers and greenhouses |
| Demolition | Yes | $61 dwelling / $56 accessory | $67.22 for a dwelling with levy and technology fee |
| Electrical service change | Yes | $56 - $166 by amps | 200 amps single phase: $83 |
Which projects need a permit, and which fee line applies, is decided by the City of Suffolk Community Development Division under the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. The shed and fence answers come from the Division's own FAQ. When unsure, contact the Division before starting work.
Suffolk Community Development Division
Community Development Division
442 W Washington Street, Suffolk, VA 23434 · 757-514-4150
Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Suffolk Online Access Portal (SOAP)
Linked from the City's Permits & Applications page, along with the building and trade application forms
When This Estimate May Not Apply
Plan review is or is not charged on your project
The schedule lists residential plan review by size but does not say which projects it applies to. On an 800 sq ft addition it is the difference between $78.44 and $161.44.
The levy is calculated on a different base
Suffolk prints a 2.00% state levy but not which fees it applies to. If it is also charged on plan review, a 2,000 sq ft home rises by $1.66.
Your square footage is measured differently
The schedule does not define the square-footage measure for the $0.09 rate, and the plan review bands overlap at 5,000 sq ft. The Division decides which figure applies.
A new fiscal year starts
Suffolk publishes a new fee schedule with each budget. These figures are for FY 2026-2027 (July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027) and may change on July 1, 2027.
Work starts early or inspections fail
Working without a permit is penalized $276 on each permit where work has been done, each extra inspection trip or reinspection is $56, and a permit extension is $83.
Site and utility fees apply to a new build
Zoning permits, Health Department evaluations for well and septic, Department of Public Utilities water and sewer connection fees, and the stormwater utility fee are separate from the building permit and can be much larger.
Source note: Fees come from the City of Suffolk Fee Schedule, Fiscal Year 2026-2027 (Community Development section), linked from the City's Permits & Applications page. The same schedule appears in the Adopted Operating & Capital Budget FY 2026-2027; the budget was adopted by City Council on May 6, 2026 and its appropriation ordinance (No. 26-0-044) is in effect from July 1, 2026. Both were read on October 20, 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
Sources
-
City of Suffolk Fee Schedule, Fiscal Year 2026-2027 (PDF) FY 2026-2027 (July 1, 2026 - June 30, 2027) · Source of the $0.09 per sq ft rate, $56 minimum, plan review bands, 2% state levy, $5 technology fee, trade, pool, demolition and administrative fees · Verified October 20, 2026
-
City of Suffolk Adopted Operating & Capital Budget FY 2026-2027 (PDF) Adopted May 6, 2026; Ordinance No. 26-0-044 in effect from July 1, 2026 · Prints the same Community Development fee schedule (pp. 429-437) · Verified October 20, 2026
-
City of Suffolk - Permits & Applications Current · Links the Permit Fees Schedule, the SOAP portal, application forms, the deck handout and the State Mandated Levy notice · Verified October 20, 2026
-
Code of Virginia 36-137 - USBC State Levy Authority Current · Virginia General Assembly · Authorizes the state levy on permit fees collected by local building departments
See how Suffolk's fees compare with other Hampton Roads cities, or estimate fees in covered jurisdictions.
Permit Fees Are One Part of Your Project Budget
Once you know your Suffolk permit cost, two related numbers round out your total budget picture:
Property tax impact after your project closes
A permitted addition, garage or new home may change the property's assessed value in Suffolk. The City Assessor determines that value, separately from this permit fee.
Zoning, utility and stormwater fees for larger projects
Suffolk's zoning fees sit in the same citywide fee schedule, while water and sewer service and connection charges are set by the Department of Public Utilities and the stormwater utility fee is billed separately. They are excluded from the figures above.
These charges are administered separately from the building permit fee, though the responsible office and billing process vary by jurisdiction. See which tool covers each charge →