Solar Panel Permit Cost in Plano, TX (2026)
Residential solar panel permit fees for the City of Plano, Texas (Collin County, North Texas / DFW), pulled directly from the Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule (Exhibit "A", Ordinance No. 2025-11-4), which repeals the prior 2020 schedule. Plano prices a residential photovoltaic (solar) permit as a flat $150.00 - the same whether the array is a few panels or a full rooftop system, because it is a single flat line, not a per-panel or valuation-based fee. Texas has no statewide permit levy, and Plano adds no percentage technology surcharge on the solar line. This is the current adopted schedule.
This guide covers: The City of Plano residential photovoltaic solar permit fee as printed in the current adopted Building Inspections fee schedule - a flat $150.00 "Photovoltaic Solar (Residential)" permit. That figure is exact from Exhibit "A" of Ordinance No. 2025-11-4 and is the same regardless of array size, because it is a single flat line for a rooftop residential system.
This guide does NOT cover: the solar equipment and installation cost, a main-panel or electrical service upgrade or a separate interconnection permit (Plano's simple residential trade permit is $85.00 if the utility work is filed separately), battery / energy-storage systems (not a printed line - not invented here), the 65% plan-review deposit whose applicability to a flat solar line is not stated on the schedule (disclosed, not folded in), or HOA approvals. These are separate and are not included in the $150.00. One dating note: the ordinance number encodes November 2025; the exact effective day was not machine-readable, so we treat it as a current, month-dated schedule.
A residential solar panel permit in Plano, TX is a flat $150.00 - the same for any array size, because it is a flat line rather than a per-panel fee. Texas adds no state levy and Plano adds no percentage technology surcharge, so $150.00 is the whole solar building permit. If the job also needs a main-panel or service upgrade filed as a separate electrical permit, Plano's residential simple trade permit is $85.00 (disclosed, not folded in). This figure comes from the Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule adopted under Ordinance 2025-11-4, the current schedule. Verify with Plano Building Inspections (972-941-7140) before filing.
- Plano charges a flat $150.00 for a residential solar panel permit - the same fee regardless of system size, because it is a single flat line, not a per-panel or valuation-based schedule.
- The flat $150.00 is the solar building permit. A separate electrical permit may apply if the array needs a main-panel or service upgrade filed on its own (Plano's residential simple trade permit is $85.00) - disclosed, not folded into the $150.00.
- Battery or energy-storage systems are not a printed line on the schedule, so no figure is invented here - confirm any storage permit with the department.
- The schedule lists a 65% plan-review deposit as a general provision; the schedule does not state it attaches to the flat solar line, so it is disclosed rather than added.
- Among verified Texas cities, Plano's $150 sits mid-range for a flat residential solar permit - above Temple's $35 and Lubbock's $75, near Carrollton's $125, and far below College Station's $695.
- Texas has no statewide percentage permit levy - unlike Virginia's 2% USBC add-on - and Plano adds no percentage technology surcharge on the solar line, so $150.00 is the whole solar building permit. The figure comes from the current adopted Ordinance 2025-11-4 schedule; verify before relying on it.
Plano Solar Permit Fee Structure
The residential solar permit is a single flat line, priced the same regardless of array size, for a rooftop photovoltaic system. There is no per-panel or valuation calculation on the solar line and no statewide levy or technology surcharge. A separate electrical permit and the general plan-review provision are shown below for contrast. All figures are from the current adopted Ordinance 2025-11-4 schedule.
| Item | Fee | How It Is Calculated |
|---|---|---|
| Residential photovoltaic solar permit | $150.00 | Flat "Photovoltaic Solar (Residential)" line - same at any array size. |
| Separate electrical permit (if utility/service work filed alone) | $85.00 | Plano residential simple trade permit; disclosed, not folded into the solar line. |
| Battery / energy storage | Not printed | No line on the schedule - confirm with the department; no figure invented. |
| Plan-review deposit (general provision) | 65% (applicability unstated) | Listed as a general provision; not stated to attach to a flat solar line - disclosed, not added. |
| State / city percentage levy | None | Texas has no statewide permit levy; Plano adds no percentage technology surcharge. |
Source: City of Plano Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule (Exhibit "A", Ordinance No. 2025-11-4). The $150.00 residential solar permit is exact on the current adopted schedule. A separate electrical permit ($85 residential simple trade) may apply for interconnection or a service upgrade; battery storage is not a printed line; the 65% plan-review deposit is a general provision whose applicability to a flat solar line is not stated. Confirm scope with Building Inspections.
Worked Examples - Real Solar Projects in Plano
Because the residential solar permit is a flat fee, the permit cost does not change with array size. The examples below use the current adopted schedule amounts.
A homeowner adds a rooftop photovoltaic array that ties into the existing electrical service, no panel upgrade needed.
- Residential solar permit: $150.00
- Texas state levy: $0.00 (none)
- Solar permit: $150.00
The same $150.00 applies whether the array is 8 panels or 30 - it is a flat line, not per-panel or per-kilowatt.
A larger system needs a main-panel/service upgrade filed as its own electrical permit.
- Residential solar permit: $150.00
- Separate residential electrical permit: $85.00
- Common combined case: $235.00 (two separate lines)
The $235.00 is two separate permits, not a merged fee, and applies only when a service/panel upgrade is filed on its own. If no upgrade is needed, the solar permit stands alone at $150.00.
A homeowner pairs the array with a home battery.
- Residential solar permit: $150.00
- Battery / energy storage: not a printed line
- Confirm storage permit path with the department
The Plano schedule does not print a battery/energy-storage line, so no figure is invented. Route storage questions to Building Inspections before budgeting.
When This Estimate May Not Apply
The flat $150.00 covers a residential rooftop solar building permit on Plano's current adopted schedule. Route your project to Building Inspections before relying on this figure if any of the following applies:
- The array needs a main-panel or service upgrade filed separately. That electrical work is a separate permit (Plano residential simple trade permit $85.00), not included in the $150.00.
- The system includes battery / energy storage. Storage is not a printed line on the schedule - confirm the permit path with the department; no figure is invented here.
- The install is ground-mounted or structural. A ground mount or structural work may be priced differently from the flat rooftop line - confirm classification.
- The property is commercial or multi-family. This guide is the residential flat line; commercial/MF solar is priced on other parts of the schedule.
- HOA or deed-restriction rules apply. Placement and approval rules are handled separately from the flat permit fee (Texas law limits, but does not eliminate, HOA solar restrictions).
- The schedule changes. Fee schedules are amended by ordinance - confirm the current amount before budgeting a later job.
Separate service/interconnection permits, battery storage, ground mounts, commercial/multi-family scope, HOA rules, and future schedule amendments are all excluded from or may change the $150.00 residential solar permit on this page, and the page-standard disclaimer applies - always verify with Plano Building Inspections before budgeting.
Plano Solar Permit Cost vs Other Verified Texas Cities
Texas cities price residential solar permits very differently - most use a flat building-permit line, but the amounts range widely. The table below compares Plano's flat solar line with other verified Texas cities. Each is the solar building permit only; separate electrical/interconnection permits are noted per city where they apply.
| City | Solar Fee Basis | Residential Solar Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Temple, TX | Flat line | $35.00 |
| Lubbock, TX | Flat line | $75.00 |
| Carrollton, TX | Flat line | $125.00 |
| Plano, TX | Flat line | $150.00 |
| Arlington, TX | Flat line (+ $100 electrical) | $275.00 |
| College Station, TX | Flat line | $695.00 |
Scope note: Plano's $150.00 is a flat residential solar building-permit line - mid-range among verified Texas cities, above Temple's $35, Lubbock's $75 and Carrollton's $125, and well below Arlington's $275 (which also adds a separate $100 electrical permit) and College Station's $695. Where a service upgrade is filed separately, add Plano's $85 residential trade permit.
See Plano's full residential fee schedule, or compare another verified Texas city.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who to Contact
| Department | City of Plano - Building Inspections Department (Development Services) |
| Phone | 972-941-7140 |
| Location | Plano Municipal Center, 1520 Ave K, Suite 140, Plano, TX 75074 (Collin County, North Texas / DFW) |
| Fee schedule | Plano Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule (Ordinance 2025-11-4) |
Sources
-
City of Plano Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule (Exhibit "A", Ordinance No. 2025-11-4) City of Plano official adopted fee schedule (PDF), which repeals the prior 2020-3-6 schedule. Primary source for the $150.00 residential solar permit, the $85 residential simple trade permit, and the $10 Day Laborer Fee scope. Extracted June 10, 2026 current schedule
-
Texas Local Government Code, Chapter 214 Texas statute (.gov) confirming municipal building-regulation authority and that Texas imposes no statewide percentage building-permit levy. Context for the "no statewide levy" statement. Verified September 2026.