Skip to main content

Solar Panel Permit Cost in College Station, TX (2026)

Residential solar panel permit fees for the City of College Station, Texas (Brazos County, Central Texas / Bryan-College Station), pulled directly from the Planning & Development Services FY26 Fee Schedule (updated September 29, 2025), effective October 1, 2025. College Station prices a residential solar panel permit as a flat $695.00 - the same regardless of array size, and among the highest verified solar permit fees of any Texas city PermitPrice tracks. Texas has no statewide permit levy, and College Station adds no percentage technology surcharge on the solar line. This is the current schedule, so there is no source-age caution here.

Residential Solar Panel Permit
$695.00 flat
Fee Basis
Flat - not per-kW or per-panel
Separate Electrical Permit
May apply ($54 min) - schedule silent, disclosed
Fee Schedule Effective
October 1, 2025 (current, CPI-adjusted)
State / City Percentage Levy
None (no state levy, no tech surcharge)
Fee Status
Exact on the current schedule
What This Guide Covers - and What It Does Not

This guide covers: The City of College Station residential solar panel permit fee as printed in the current FY26 Planning & Development Services fee schedule - a flat $695.00 "Solar Panels Residential" permit. That figure is exact from the schedule effective October 1, 2025 and is the same regardless of how many panels or kilowatts the array is, because it is a single flat line.

This guide does NOT cover: the cost of the solar equipment or installation, a separate electrical permit for the interconnection (the schedule lists Electrical permits as their own line item, $54 minimum; whether one is additionally required for a residential solar install is not stated on the solar line - disclosed here, not folded into the $695.00), a roof structural upgrade needed to carry the array (priced as a remodel at $0.75/SF, $127 minimum), battery/energy-storage systems (not a printed line - not invented), utility interconnection agreements, or HOA approvals. The schedule also states fees are CPI-adjusted every October 1, so confirm the current amount before budgeting a later job.

Key Takeaways
  • College Station charges a flat $695.00 for a residential solar panel permit - the same fee regardless of array size, because it is a single flat line, not a per-kW or per-panel schedule.
  • That $695.00 is among the highest verified residential solar permit fees of any Texas city PermitPrice tracks - many peers sit between $35 and $300.
  • A separate electrical permit ($54 minimum) may also apply for the interconnection. The solar line does not state whether one is required, so it is disclosed here and not folded into the $695.00 - confirm with the department.
  • Texas has no statewide percentage permit levy - unlike Virginia's 2% USBC add-on - and College Station adds no city technology surcharge on the solar line.
  • Among verified Texas cities, College Station's $695 is the top of the range - well above Arlington's $275, Lubbock's $75 and Temple's $35.
  • The figure comes from the College Station Planning & Development Services FY26 fee schedule (updated September 29, 2025, effective October 1, 2025) - the current schedule, CPI-adjusted each October 1. Verify before relying on it.

College Station Solar Permit Fee Structure

The residential solar panel permit is a single flat line, priced the same regardless of array size. There is no per-kW or per-panel calculation on the solar line and no statewide levy or technology surcharge. A separate electrical permit and a roof structural upgrade are priced differently - shown below for contrast. All figures are from the current FY26 schedule effective October 1, 2025.

Item Fee How It Is Calculated
Residential solar panel permit $695.00 Flat "Solar Panels Residential" line - same at any array size.
Separate electrical permit (if required) $54.00 min Electrical permits are their own line item ($54 min for first 1,000 SF); the solar line does not state one is included - disclosed, not folded.
Roof structural upgrade for the array $0.75 / SF ($127 min) If the roof needs reinforcement, that is a residential remodel line - a department determination.
Battery / energy-storage system Not a printed line The schedule does not print a battery-storage fee - route to the department; not invented here.
Plan review percentage on a flat solar line None The flat solar line carries no separate plan-review percentage.
State / city percentage levy None Texas has no statewide permit levy; College Station adds no technology surcharge.

Source: City of College Station Planning & Development Services FY26 Fee Schedule (updated September 29, 2025, effective October 1, 2025). The $695.00 residential solar panel permit is exact on the current schedule. Whether a separate electrical permit is additionally required for the interconnection is not stated on the solar line - confirm with Planning & Development Services. Fees are CPI-adjusted each October 1.

Worked Examples - Real Solar Projects in College Station

Because the residential solar panel permit is a flat fee, the permit cost does not change with array size. The examples below use the current FY26 schedule amounts.

Example 1: Standard rooftop solar array

A homeowner installs a typical 7 kW rooftop photovoltaic array on an existing roof.

  • Residential solar panel permit: $695.00
  • Texas state levy: $0.00 (none)
  • Solar permit line: $695.00

The same $695.00 applies whether the array is 5 kW or 12 kW - it is a flat line, not per-kW or per-panel.

Example 2: Larger array, same flat permit

A larger home installs a 14 kW array across two roof planes - more panels, same flat permit.

  • Residential solar panel permit: $695.00
  • Solar permit line: $695.00

College Station does not scale the solar permit by array size, so a large system is the same $695.00 as a small one.

Example 3: Solar with a separate electrical permit

If the department requires a separate electrical permit for the interconnection, that is an additional line.

  • Residential solar panel permit: $695.00
  • Separate electrical permit (if required): $54.00 minimum
  • Possible combined: $749.00 (labeled estimate)

The $749.00 is an estimate: the solar line is silent on whether a separate electrical permit is required. Confirm with Planning & Development Services before budgeting the combined figure.

When This Estimate May Not Apply

The flat $695.00 covers the residential solar panel permit on College Station's current FY26 schedule. Route your project to Planning & Development Services before relying on this figure if any of the following applies:

  • A separate electrical permit is required. The interconnection may need its own electrical permit ($54 minimum), which the solar line does not state is included.
  • The roof needs structural reinforcement. Reinforcing the roof to carry the array is a residential remodel at $0.75 per square foot ($127 minimum), separate from the solar permit.
  • Battery or energy storage is added. Battery storage is not a printed line on the schedule - route to the department; it is not included in the $695.00.
  • The system is ground-mounted or commercial. The $695.00 is the residential solar line; a ground-mount or commercial install may be priced differently.
  • HOA or utility interconnection rules apply. HOA approvals and the utility interconnection agreement are handled separately from the permit fee.
  • The schedule changes. College Station's fees are CPI-adjusted every October 1 - confirm the current amount before budgeting a later job.

A separate electrical permit, roof reinforcement, battery storage, ground-mount/commercial systems, HOA/utility rules, and annual CPI adjustments are all excluded from or may change the $695.00 residential solar permit on this page, and the page-standard disclaimer applies - always verify with College Station Planning & Development Services before budgeting.

College Station Solar Permit Cost vs Other Verified Texas Cities

Texas cities price solar panel permits very differently - most use a flat line, and the amounts range widely. The table below compares College Station's flat residential solar permit with other verified Texas cities. Scope differs, so each figure notes its basis.

City Solar Fee Basis Residential Solar Permit
Temple, TX Flat line $35.00
Lubbock, TX Flat (electrical) $75.00
Carrollton, TX Flat line $125.00
Plano, TX Flat line $150.00
Arlington, TX Flat line $275.00
College Station, TX Flat line $695.00

Scope note: College Station's $695.00 is a flat residential solar line - the top of the verified Texas range, far above Temple's $35, Lubbock's $75, Carrollton's $125, Plano's $150 and Arlington's $275. Some of these peers also require a separate electrical permit; each figure is the solar-permit line on its city's schedule.

Next Step

See College Station's full residential fee schedule, or compare another verified Texas city.

Frequently Asked Questions

A residential solar panel permit is a flat $695.00 - the same at any array size. It comes from the College Station Planning & Development Services FY26 fee schedule effective October 1, 2025 (current). Texas adds no state levy and College Station adds no percentage technology surcharge. A separate electrical permit ($54 minimum) may also apply for the interconnection.
College Station prints a single flat $695.00 "Solar Panels Residential" line, which is the top of the verified Texas range. Other cities set their solar line lower - Temple $35, Lubbock $75, Carrollton $125, Plano $150, Arlington $275. Each city sets its own fee; College Station's is simply a higher flat amount, not a per-kW calculation.
No. The $695.00 is a flat line - the same whether the array is small or large. It does not scale per kilowatt or per panel.
The schedule lists Electrical permits as their own line item ($54 minimum), but the flat solar line does not state whether one is additionally required for a residential solar install. We disclose that possibility rather than fold it into the $695.00. Confirm with Planning & Development Services (979-764-3500) whether a separate electrical permit applies to your project.
No. Texas has no statewide percentage permit levy, and College Station adds no technology surcharge to the residential solar line. Note the schedule is CPI-adjusted every October 1, so the $695.00 can change annually.
No. Battery or energy-storage systems are not a printed line on the College Station schedule, so we do not fold a figure for them into the $695.00. Route a battery install to Planning & Development Services for the correct permit and fee.

Who to Contact

Department City of College Station - Planning & Development Services
Phone 979-764-3500
Location 1101 Texas Ave., College Station, TX 77840 (Brazos County, Central Texas)
Fee schedule College Station Planning & Development Services FY26 Fee Schedule (effective October 1, 2025)

Sources

Official Sources - Recorded September 2026
Always verify current solar permit fees directly with the City of College Station Planning & Development Services (979-764-3500) before budgeting or filing. The figure on this page comes from the FY26 Fee Schedule effective October 1, 2025. The $695.00 is the flat residential solar panel permit; a separate electrical permit ($54 minimum) may also apply for the interconnection, a roof structural upgrade is priced as a remodel, and fees are CPI-adjusted each October 1. Confirm the current amount before you submit an application.
Disclaimer: All fee information on PermitPrice is for informational purposes only and is not an official permit quotation. Actual permit fees are determined by the City of College Station at the time of application. The $695.00 residential solar panel permit shown is exact on the FY26 Fee Schedule effective October 1, 2025. Solar equipment and installation costs, a separate electrical permit for the interconnection, roof structural reinforcement (priced as a $0.75/SF remodel), battery/energy-storage systems, utility interconnection agreements, and HOA approvals are excluded from the solar-permit figure on this page. Verify all fees directly with the department before filing.

Written by: Munib Ur Rehman

Data verified against official fee schedule documents.