Skip to main content

Fence Permit Cost in Plano, TX (2026)

Residential fence permit fees for the City of Plano, Texas (Collin County, North Texas / DFW), pulled directly from the Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule (Exhibit "A", Ordinance No. 2025-11-4), which repeals the prior 2020 schedule. Plano prices a residential fence permit at a flat $75.00 - a $65.00 permit plus a $10.00 Day Laborer Fee - the same at any length, height, or material. Texas has no statewide permit levy, and Plano adds no percentage technology surcharge. This is the current adopted schedule.

Residential Fence Permit
$75.00 all-in
Fee Breakdown
$65 permit + $10 Day Laborer Fee
Fee Basis
Flat - not per-linear-foot
Fee Schedule
Ordinance 2025-11-4 (current, adopted Nov 2025)
State / City Percentage Levy
None (no state levy, no tech surcharge)
Fee Status
Exact on the current schedule
What This Guide Covers - and What It Does Not

This guide covers: The City of Plano residential fence permit fee as printed in the current adopted Building Inspections Department fee schedule - a flat $75.00, made up of a $65.00 fence/retaining-wall permit plus a $10.00 Day Laborer Fee that Plano adds line-by-line to this permit type. That figure is exact from Ordinance 2025-11-4 and is the same whether the fence is short or runs the whole property line, because it is a single flat line, not a per-linear-foot fee.

This guide does NOT cover: fence material and installation cost, the commercial fence line (priced differently), zoning height/placement or corner-visibility rules, a masonry or engineered retaining wall that may need structural review, or HOA approvals. Plano's schedule lists a general plan-review deposit (65% of the building permit fee) whose applicability to a flat fence line is not stated - it is disclosed here rather than added. These are separate and are not included in the $75.00.

Key Takeaways
  • Plano charges a flat $75.00 for a residential fence permit - a $65.00 permit plus a $10.00 Day Laborer Fee - the same fee regardless of fence length, height, or material, because it is a single flat line, not a per-linear-foot schedule.
  • The $10.00 Day Laborer Fee is added by Plano line-by-line to specific permit types (fences, irrigation, spas, pools), so it is part of the $75.00 all-in fence figure - not a separate surprise charge.
  • The same $75.00 line covers a residential retaining wall. A commercial fence is priced on a different line.
  • Texas has no statewide percentage permit levy - unlike Virginia's 2% USBC add-on - and Plano adds no city technology surcharge on the fence line, so $75.00 is the whole permit.
  • Among verified Texas cities, Plano's $75 sits at the higher end for a flat fence permit - above Arlington's $25, Richardson's $30 and Denton's $50, and just below San Marcos's $79.
  • The figure comes from the Plano Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule (Ordinance 2025-11-4, adopted November 2025) - the current adopted schedule. Verify before relying on it.

Plano Fence Permit Fee Structure

The residential fence permit is a single flat line - a $65.00 permit plus a $10.00 Day Laborer Fee - priced the same regardless of fence length, height, or material. There is no per-linear-foot calculation on the fence line and no statewide levy or technology surcharge. The commercial fence line and a general plan-review deposit are shown below for contrast. All figures are from the current adopted schedule (Ordinance 2025-11-4).

Item Fee How It Is Calculated
Residential fence / retaining-wall permit $75.00 $65.00 permit + $10.00 Day Laborer Fee - flat, same at any length/height/material.
Base fence permit (before Day Laborer Fee) $65.00 The permit line itself; the $10 Day Laborer Fee is added to reach $75.00.
Day Laborer Fee $10.00 Added line-by-line to fences, irrigation, spas, and pools - not a blanket surcharge.
General plan-review deposit 65% of permit (if it applies) A schedule-wide provision; its applicability to a flat fence line is not stated - disclosed, not folded.
State / city percentage levy None Texas has no statewide permit levy; Plano adds no technology surcharge.

Source: City of Plano Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule (Exhibit "A", Ordinance No. 2025-11-4). The $75.00 residential fence permit ($65 + $10 Day Laborer Fee) is exact on the current adopted schedule. The commercial fence line is priced separately; the 65% plan-review deposit is a general provision whose applicability to a flat fence line is not stated. Confirm with Building Inspections.

Worked Examples - Real Fence Projects in Plano

Because the residential fence permit is a flat fee, the permit cost does not change with fence length. The examples below use the current adopted schedule amounts.

Example 1: Standard backyard privacy fence

A homeowner replaces 150 linear feet of 6 ft cedar privacy fence around a backyard.

  • Fence permit: $65.00
  • Day Laborer Fee: $10.00
  • Total fence permit: $75.00

The same $75.00 applies whether the fence is 60 ft or 300 ft - it is a flat line, not per-linear-foot.

Example 2: Full-perimeter fence, same flat permit

A corner lot fences the entire perimeter - much more material, same flat permit.

  • Fence permit: $65.00
  • Day Laborer Fee: $10.00
  • Total fence permit: $75.00

Plano does not scale the fence permit by length, so a long run is the same $75.00 as a short one - but corner lots may face extra zoning visibility rules.

Example 3: Residential retaining wall

A homeowner builds a low residential retaining wall covered by the same fence/retaining-wall line.

  • Fence / retaining-wall permit: $65.00
  • Day Laborer Fee: $10.00
  • Total: $75.00

A masonry or engineered retaining wall may need structural review beyond the flat line - confirm the classification with Building Inspections.

When This Estimate May Not Apply

The flat $75.00 covers a residential fence permit on Plano's current adopted schedule. Route your project to Building Inspections before relying on this figure if any of the following applies:

  • The fence is commercial. A commercial fence is priced on a different line, not the $75.00 residential figure.
  • An engineered or masonry retaining wall is involved. Structural review may apply beyond the flat fence/retaining-wall line.
  • Zoning height, placement, or corner-visibility rules apply. Front-yard height limits and sight-triangle rules are handled separately from the permit fee.
  • The department applies its plan-review deposit. Plano's schedule lists a 65% plan-review deposit as a general provision; whether it attaches to a flat fence line is not stated - confirm before budgeting.
  • HOA or deed-restriction rules apply. Material, color, and placement approvals are separate from the city permit.
  • The schedule changes. Confirm the current amount before budgeting a later job.

Commercial fences, engineered retaining walls, zoning rules, a possible plan-review deposit, and HOA approvals are all excluded from the $75.00 residential fence permit on this page, and the page-standard disclaimer applies - always verify with Plano Building Inspections before budgeting.

Plano Fence Permit Cost vs Other Verified Texas Cities

Texas cities price fence permits mostly as flat lines, and the amounts vary widely. The table below compares Plano's flat residential fence permit with other verified Texas cities. Scope differs, so each figure notes its basis.

City Fence Fee Basis Residential Fence Permit
Arlington, TX Flat line $25.00
Richardson, TX Flat line $30.00
Denton, TX Flat line $44.00
Carrollton, TX Flat line $50.00
Plano, TX Flat ($65 + $10) $75.00
San Marcos, TX Flat ($79 + $15 tech) $79.00

Scope note: Plano's $75.00 is a flat residential fence line ($65 permit + $10 Day Laborer Fee) - at the higher end of verified Texas cities, above Arlington's $25, Richardson's $30, Denton's $50 and Carrollton's $50, and just below San Marcos's $79 base (which also adds a $15 tech fee). All are flat lines that do not scale with fence length.

Next Step

See Plano's full residential fee schedule, or compare another verified Texas city.

Frequently Asked Questions

A residential fence permit is a flat $75.00 - a $65.00 permit plus a $10.00 Day Laborer Fee - the same at any length, height, or material. It comes from the Plano Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule adopted under Ordinance 2025-11-4 (current), and Texas adds no state levy while Plano adds no percentage technology surcharge.
Plano adds a $10.00 Day Laborer Fee line-by-line to certain permit types - including fences, irrigation, spas, and pools. It is not a blanket surcharge on all permits. For a fence, the $10 is added to the $65 permit to reach the $75.00 all-in figure.
No. For a residential fence, Plano's $75.00 is a flat line - the same whether the fence is short or runs the whole property line. It does not scale per linear foot.
Plano's schedule lists a combined "fence / retaining wall" residential line at $65 plus the $10 Day Laborer Fee, so a residential retaining wall uses the same $75.00. A masonry or engineered wall may need structural review beyond the flat line - confirm the classification with Building Inspections.
Plano prints a residential fence/retaining-wall permit line on its fee schedule, so a fence is a permitted activity with a flat $75.00 fee. Height, placement, and corner-visibility rules also apply. Confirm the requirement with Building Inspections (972-941-7140) before starting work.
Plano's $75.00 is at the higher end of verified Texas fence permits - above Arlington's $25, Richardson's $30, Denton's $50 and Carrollton's $50, and just below San Marcos's $79 base. All are flat lines that do not scale with fence length.

Who to Contact

Department City of Plano - Building Inspections Department (Development Services)
Phone 972-941-7140
Location Plano Municipal Center, 1520 Ave K, Suite 140, Plano, TX 75074 (Collin County, North Texas / DFW)
Fee schedule Plano Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule (Ordinance 2025-11-4)

Sources

Official Sources - Recorded September 2026
Always verify current fence permit fees directly with the City of Plano Building Inspections Department (972-941-7140) before budgeting or filing. The figure on this page comes from the Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule adopted under Ordinance 2025-11-4. The $75.00 is the flat residential fence permit ($65 permit + $10 Day Laborer Fee); commercial fences, engineered retaining walls, zoning rules, and a possible plan-review deposit are separate. Confirm the current amount before you submit an application.

Comparing more than one state? The How Much Is a Fence Permit? overview lines up 9 verified jurisdictions in VA, MD, TX and DC on one table.

Disclaimer: All fee information on PermitPrice is for informational purposes only and is not an official permit quotation. Actual permit fees are determined by the City of Plano at the time of application. The $75.00 residential fence permit shown ($65 permit + $10 Day Laborer Fee) is exact on the Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule (Ordinance 2025-11-4). Fence material and installation costs, commercial fences, engineered/masonry retaining walls, zoning height and corner-visibility rules, a possible plan-review deposit, and HOA/deed-restriction approvals are excluded from the fence-permit figure on this page. Verify all fees directly with the department before filing.

Written by: Munib Ur Rehman

Data verified against official fee schedule documents.