Retaining Wall Permit Cost in Carrollton, TX (2026)
Residential retaining wall permit fees for the City of Carrollton, Texas (spanning Denton, Dallas, and Collin Counties, DFW Metroplex), pulled directly from the city's codified Comprehensive Fee Schedule (Code of Ordinances Chapter 31, Section 31.01(B)). Carrollton prices a retaining wall as a flat $50.00 standalone "specific permit," the same at any wall length. The schedule's $125.00 nonrefundable application fee attaches to project permits - new dwellings, additions, and remodels - not to a standalone specific permit like a retaining wall. Texas has no statewide permit levy.
This guide covers: The City of Carrollton residential retaining wall permit fee as printed in the codified Comprehensive Fee Schedule (Chapter 31, Sec. 31.01(B)) - a flat $50.00 "Retaining wall" line listed among the standalone "specific permits." It is exact from the schedule and does not vary with wall length.
On the $125.00 application fee: The schedule lists a $125.00 nonrefundable application fee under project permits (new dwellings up to four units, new commercial, additions, remodels, and finish-outs). A retaining wall is listed separately under standalone specific permits, so the $125.00 application fee is not stated to attach to a standalone retaining-wall permit. This guide does not fold it in; if the department applied it to a wall filed as part of a larger project, the combined cost would be higher. Confirm with Building Inspection.
On the effective date: Carrollton's fee schedule is read from the eCode360 codification, which is current through December 2, 2025, but the individual fee subsections do not print their own adopted/effective date. Treat the amount as the current codified figure and confirm the adopting ordinance date with Building Inspection if you need it for the record.
This guide does NOT cover: the cost of building the wall itself, structural engineering or drawings that a taller wall may require, drainage systems, a separate electrical or irrigation permit for anything tied to the wall, or a retaining wall built as part of a new-home or addition project (where the wall may be covered by the $6.00-per-$1,000 valuation project permit instead of the standalone $50.00 line). These are separate from the $50.00 retaining-wall permit.
A residential retaining wall permit in Carrollton, TX is a flat $50.00 standalone specific permit, the same at any wall length. The schedule's $125.00 nonrefundable application fee is listed under project permits (new dwellings, additions, remodels) and is not stated to attach to a standalone retaining wall, so it is not folded in here. Structural engineering, drawings, and drainage a taller wall may need are separate and not included. Texas adds no state levy. Figures are from the City of Carrollton codified Comprehensive Fee Schedule (Chapter 31), which is current through December 2, 2025 and prints no individual effective date.
- Carrollton charges a flat $50.00 for a standalone residential retaining wall permit - a "specific permit" line in the codified fee schedule, the same regardless of wall length. It is exact from the schedule.
- The $125.00 nonrefundable application fee applies to project permits (new dwellings, additions, remodels, finish-outs), not to a standalone specific permit like a retaining wall. This guide does not fold it into the $50.00.
- The fee is flat, not per linear foot. This differs from cities that price walls by length - New Braunfels, for example, charges $0.50 per linear foot for walls over 24 inches.
- The $50.00 permit fee is the same whether or not the wall needs engineering, but taller or engineered walls typically require stamped drawings and may trigger additional review - those engineering costs are separate from the permit fee.
- A retaining wall built as part of a new-home or addition project may be covered by that project's $6.00-per-$1,000-of-valuation permit (minimum $125.00) rather than the standalone $50.00 line - a department determination.
- Texas has no statewide percentage permit levy, and Carrollton adds no city percentage surcharge on this line. Figures come from the City of Carrollton codified Comprehensive Fee Schedule (Chapter 31, Sec. 31.01(B)), current through December 2, 2025.
Carrollton Retaining Wall Permit Fee Structure
The retaining wall permit is a single flat "specific permit" line, priced the same regardless of wall length. It is separate from the project-permit application fee and from any electrical or irrigation permit tied to the wall. There is no per-linear-foot or valuation calculation on this line and no statewide levy.
| Item | Fee | How It Is Calculated |
|---|---|---|
| Retaining wall (standalone) | $50.00 | Flat "Retaining wall" line among standalone specific permits - same at any wall length. |
| $125 nonrefundable application fee | Not on this line | Listed under project permits (new dwellings, additions, remodels); not stated to attach to a standalone retaining wall - not folded in. |
| Retaining wall all-in (standalone) | $50.00 | The single specific-permit line, with no percentage surcharge and no state levy. |
| Wall inside a larger project | $6/$1,000 valuation | A wall built as part of a new home/addition may fall under that project's valuation permit (min $125.00) instead - a department call. |
| Engineering / drawings | Separate (varies) | Taller/engineered walls typically need stamped drawings; that engineering cost is separate from the $50.00 permit. |
| State / city percentage levy | None | Texas has no statewide permit levy; Carrollton adds no percentage surcharge on this line. |
Source: City of Carrollton Comprehensive Fee Schedule, Code of Ordinances Chapter 31, Sec. 31.01(B) (eCode360 codification current through December 2, 2025; individual fee lines print no separate effective date). The application-fee, larger-project, and engineering rows disclose items the standalone $50.00 line does not include - confirm treatment with Building Inspection.
Worked Examples - Real Retaining Wall Projects in Carrollton
Because the retaining wall permit is a flat fee, the permit cost does not change with wall length. What can change the total is whether the wall is standalone or part of a larger project, and whether engineering is required. Figures are from the City of Carrollton codified fee schedule.
A homeowner builds a landscape retaining wall in the backyard - filed on its own, not part of any other project.
- Retaining wall specific permit: $50.00
- $125 application fee (project permits only): $0.00
- Texas state levy: $0.00 (none)
- Permit: $50.00
The same $50.00 applies to a short wall or a long one - the specific-permit line is flat, not per linear foot.
A homeowner builds a taller wall that requires an engineer's stamped design and drainage detailing.
- Retaining wall specific permit: $50.00
- Engineered drawings (private cost): separate, varies
- City permit fee: $50.00
The $50.00 city permit fee does not change, but engineering, drawings, and any additional review are private/departmental costs on top. Confirm the height threshold that triggers engineering with Building Inspection.
A retaining wall is built as part of building a new house on the lot.
- New dwelling project permit: $1,100.00/unit + $125 application
- Standalone retaining-wall line (if filed separately): $50.00
- Depends on how it is filed: $50.00 standalone or bundled in the project
Whether a wall built during construction is billed as the standalone $50.00 specific permit or absorbed into the new-home project permit is a determination for Building Inspection. This guide does not assume it.
When This Estimate May Not Apply
The $50.00 covers the flat standalone retaining-wall specific permit on Carrollton's codified schedule. Route your project to Carrollton Building Inspection before relying on this figure if any of the following applies:
- The wall is part of a larger project. A retaining wall built during a new-home, addition, or remodel project may be covered by that project's $6.00-per-$1,000 valuation permit (min $125.00) instead of the standalone $50.00 line - a department determination.
- The wall needs engineering. Taller or structurally significant walls typically require an engineer's stamped drawings and may trigger additional review; those costs are separate from the $50.00 permit.
- Drainage or grading work is involved. Significant grading, drainage, or work in an easement or floodplain can require separate review and is not part of the retaining-wall permit.
- The $125 application fee is applied. The schedule limits that fee to project permits; if the department applies it to your filing, the combined cost would be higher - confirm before budgeting.
- The schedule is updated. The codified schedule is current through December 2, 2025 but prints no individual effective date. Fees can be amended; confirm the current amount before filing.
Larger-project reclassification, engineering and drawings, drainage/grading review, and the project-permit application fee are excluded from the $50.00 standalone permit on this page, and the page-standard disclaimer applies - always verify with Carrollton Building Inspection before budgeting.
Carrollton Retaining Wall Permit vs Other Verified Texas Cities
Texas cities price retaining wall permits on two models: a flat line (Carrollton, Mesquite) or a per-linear-foot fee (New Braunfels). The basis matters - a per-foot city is cheaper for a short wall and more expensive for a long one. All figures are exact from each city's schedule; each note gives the basis.
| City | Fee Basis | Retaining Wall Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Carrollton, TX | Flat standalone specific permit | $50.00 |
| Mesquite, TX | Flat line (Revised 2022) | $60.00 |
| New Braunfels, TX | $0.50 per linear ft (walls over 24 in) | $0.50/LF (e.g. $50 for 100 ft) |
Scope note: Carrollton's $50.00 and Mesquite's $60.00 are flat regardless of length; New Braunfels charges $0.50 per linear foot for walls over 24 inches, so a 100-foot wall there is about $50.00 before its inspection and technology add-ons. Mesquite's schedule is more than four years old; New Braunfels rounds down and adds a small technology fee. Confirm current figures and height thresholds with each department.
See Carrollton's full fee schedule, or compare another verified Texas city.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who to Contact
| Department | City of Carrollton - Building Inspection |
| Location | City of Carrollton, Denton / Dallas / Collin County, Texas (DFW Metroplex) |
| Fee schedule | Carrollton Code of Ordinances Ch. 31, Sec. 31.01(B) (eCode360) |
Sources
-
City of Carrollton Comprehensive Fee Schedule - Code of Ordinances Ch. 31, Sec. 31.01(B) (eCode360) City of Carrollton official codified fee schedule. Primary source for the $50.00 retaining-wall specific-permit line, the $125.00 project-permit application fee, and the $6.00-per-$1,000 valuation project permit. Codification current through December 2, 2025; individual fee lines print no separate effective date. Read August 26, 2026 exact - codified schedule, no printed effective date
-
Texas Local Government Code, Chapter 214 Texas statute (.gov) confirming municipal building-regulation authority and that Texas imposes no statewide percentage building-permit levy. Context for the "no statewide levy" statement. Verified August 2026.